Minnesota’s earned sick and safe time law requires employers to provide paid leave to employees who work in the state. An employee is anyone who works at least 80 hours in a year for an employer in Minnesota but does not include independent contractors. Temporary and part-time employees are covered under the law. Employers must provide each employee in Minnesota with one hour of ESST for every 30 hours worked, with the ability to accumulate at least 48 hours of ESST each year. An employer’s existing leave policy, such as PTO, may already meet Minnesota’s ESST requirements.
Click HERE for resources from the MN Department of Labor and Industry.
Click HERE to view slides from a recent ESST presentation by MN DOLI.